Information Security | Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology
» RESEARCH » Research Group » Information Security

Information Security

Computer security is crucial in almost any technology-driven industry which operates on computer systems, as enormous volumes of critical information is created, transmitted, and archived by computers worldwide every day – ensuring the security of this information is a challenge. Some of this information can be confidential ones belonging to governments, military, financial institutions, hospitals, and private businesses. Protecting confidential information is crucial indeed – it is undoubtedly a business requirement, and in many cases also an ethical and legal requirement.
Information security involves protecting information and information systems from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption, modification, or destruction. With the ever-growing technology, today’s computer professionals need a comprehensive understanding of all aspects of security in computing.

Group Members:

No.

Name

Expertise

1.      

Dr. Mohd Taufik Abdullah (LEADER)
taufik@upm.edu.my

Computer Forensics, Computer Security

2.      

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nur Izura Udzir
izura@upm.edu.my 

Secure Operating System, Access Control, Intrusion Detection Systems

3.

Prof. Dr. Ramlan Mahmod
ramlan@upm.edu.my

 Security in Computing, Cryptography

4.      

Dr. Azizol Abdullah
azizol@upm.edu.my 

Network Security, Grid and Cloud Security

5.      

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zuriati Ahmad Zukarnain
zuriati@upm.edy.my 

Quantum Computation, Distributed Computing

6.      

Dr. Sharifah Md Yasin
ifah@upm.edu.my 

Elliptic Curve Cryptography

7.      

Mrs. Hjh. Zaiton Muda
zaitonm@upm.edu.my 

Cryptography, Parallel Processing

8.      

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nor Fazlida Mohd Sani
fazlida@upm.edu.my 

Software/Web and Database Security

9.   

Dr. Mohamed Afendee Mohamad
afendee@upm.edu.my 

Computer Security, Cryptography

 

 

Updated:: 30/05/2017 [amir_peli]

MEDIA SHARING

Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology
Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
03 89466555
03 89466576
C1511113864