Information Security (IS) | Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology
» RESEARCH » Research Group » Information Security (IS)

Information Security (IS)

Computer security is crucial in almost any technology-driven industry which operates on computer systems, as enormous volumes of critical information is created, transmitted, and archived by computers worldwide every day – ensuring the security of this information is a challenge. Some of this information can be confidential ones belonging to governments, military, financial institutions, hospitals, and private businesses. Protecting confidential information is crucial indeed – it is undoubtedly a business requirement, and in many cases also an ethical and legal requirement.
Information security involves protecting information and information systems from unauthorized access, use, disclosure, disruption, modification, or destruction. With the ever-growing technology, today’s computer professionals need a comprehensive understanding of all aspects of security in computing.

Group Members:

1.

Dr. Sharifah Md Yasin (LEADER)

ifah@upm.edu.my

Elliptic Curve Cryptography,  AES Cryptography, DNA Cryptography, 3D-Cellular Automata Cryptography, Secret Sharing Scheme

2.

Prof. Dr. Zuriati Ahmad Zukarnain
zuriati@upm.edy.my 

Quantum Computation, Distributed Computing, Computer Network, Blockchain

3.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nur Izura Udzir
izura@upm.edu.my

Secure Operating System, Access Control, Intrusion Detection Systems

4.

Prof. Dr. Ramlan Mahmod
ramlan@upm.edu.my

Security in Computing, Cryptography

5.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Azizol Abdullah
azizol@upm.edu.my 

Network Security, Grid and Cloud Security

6.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nor Fazlida Mohd Sani
fazlida@upm.edu.my 

Software/Web and Database Security

7.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Zurina Mohd Hanapi
zurinamh@upm.edu.my 

Network Security (Secured Routing, Grid Computing), Cryptography, Key Distribution, Wireless Network (Wireless Sensor Network, Mobile, Ad Hoc),  

8.

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Azmi Jaafar
azmij@upm.edu.my

Mathematical Programming 

9.

Prof. Madya Dr. Mohd Taufik Abdullah
taufik@upm.edu.my

Digital Forensics, Computer Security, BYOD

10.

Dr. Mohd. Izuan Hafez Hj. Ninggal
mohdizuan@upm.edu.my 

Computer Security, Blockchain

11.

Dr.  Mohd Yunus Sharum
m_yunus@upm.edu.my 

Artificial Intelligence, Natural Language Processing, Computational Linguistics

12.

Dr. Aziah Asmawi
a_aziah@upm.edu.my 

Operating System, Programming Languages, Software Security

13.

Dr. Noor Afiza Mohd Ariffin
noorafiza@upm.edu.my 

Security, Authentication System 

14.

Dr. Mohammad Daniel Hafiz Abdullah
daniel_hafiz@upm.edu.my 

Network Security 

15.

Mrs. Raja Azlina Raja Mahmood
raja_azlina@upm.edu.my 

Network Security 

 

 

Updated:: 01/11/2019 [hafizrahim]

MEDIA SHARING

Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology
Universiti Putra Malaysia
43400 UPM Serdang
Selangor Darul Ehsan
03-9769 6501
03-9769 6576
C1574344972